Boehner Names Planned Parenthood Committee Republicans

Blackburn fends off reporters as she leaves a House GOP caucus meeting. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call File Photo)

Speaker John A. Boehner announced Friday that Rep. Marsha Blackburn, R-Tenn., will chair the investigative panel created following a string of hidden camera videos showing Planned Parenthood employees talking about the sale of fetal tissue.  

"Recent videos exposing the abortion-for-baby parts business have shocked the nation, and demanded action," Boehner said Friday in a statement. "At my request, three House committees have been investigating the abortion business, but we still don’t have the full truth." Boehner said Blackburn will have "the resources and the subpoena power to get to the bottom of these horrific practices, and build on our work to protect the sanctity of all human life."  

Boehner also named the other seven Republican members of the committee, striking a gender balance of four men and four women.

  • Rep. Marsha Blackburn, chairwoman
  • Rep. Joe Pitts of Pennsylvania.
  • Rep. Diane Black of Tennessee.
  • Rep. Larry Bucshon of Indiana.
  • Rep. Sean Duffy of Wisconsin.
  • Rep. Andy Harris of Maryland.
  • Rep. Vicki Hartzler of Missouri.
  • Rep. Mia Love of Utah.

The panel will reside in the Energy and Commerce Committee, on which only three Republicans on the investigative panel serve: Blackburn, Pitts and Bucshon.