James Clyburn Elected Majority Whip
South Carolina Democrat remains in No. 3 spot

Rep. Jim Clyburn, D-S.C., makes his way to the CVC Auditorium for the House Democrats’ leadership elections Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2018. He was elected majority whip later that day. (Bill Clark/CQ Roll Call)

South Carolina Rep. James Clyburn was elected House majority whip Wednesday by acclamation, holding onto the No. 3 leadership position. 

Clyburn, currently the assistant Democratic leader, served as majority whip when Democrats were last in the majority from 2007 through 2010.

Democratic Uproar Follows Moment of Silence
"Now do something" was heard over Speaker Ryan call to order

Rep. Jim Himes visibly walked out of the chamber. (Photo By Tom Williams/CQ Roll Call)

Speaker Paul D. Ryan's moment of silence for the Orlando nightclub shooting led to an uproar in the House chamber on Monday.  

First, Connecticut Democrat Jim Himes walked off the floor when Ryan announced the moment of silence. Himes was joined by fellow Democrats John Larson and Joe Courtney of Connecticut, and Peter Welch of Vermont.