Caucus Meeting

David Hawkings’ Whiteboard: Congressional Factions

Paul Ryan Nominated for Speaker

Ryan was backed by the vast majority of the conference in the secret ballot election, receiving 200 votes, according to an official readout of the results. Forty-three members voted for Rep. Daniel Webster, a Florida Republican whose supporters think Ryan is too enmeshed in the establishment, while Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy, R-Calif., and Rep. Marsha Blackburn, R-Tenn., each received a single vote.

Standing alongside GOP leaders after the meeting, Ryan gave a brief statement to reporters and took no questions.

GOP Pays Tribute to Boehner at Final Meeting