Heard on the Hill

Republican players are low, but camaraderie is high ahead of Congressional Softball Game

Lawmakers and press corps unite to fight against breast cancer

Florida Democratic Rep. Kathy Castor waits for her pitch at last year’s Congressional Women’s Softball Game. This year’s game is scheduled for June 19. (Sarah Silbiger/CQ Roll Call file photo)

The official list of players in this year’s Congressional Women’s Softball Game is OUT! (to be read in an umpire’s voice) and we have just over a month before members of Congress and the D.C. press corps face each other on the field again.

The members team, which is historically composed of a bipartisan bunch of female lawmakers, has seen a decreasing number of Republican players over the years, one of them being last year’s MVP, former Rep. Mia Love. This year Sens. Joni Ernst and Shelley Moore Capito, Res. Cmmsr. Jenniffer González-Colón and Rep. Martha Roby make up less than a third of the team.

Democratic Reps. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (one of the game’s OG organizers), Norma J. Torres, Kathy Castor, Cheri Bustos and Nanette Barragán, plus Sens. Kyrsten Sinema and Kirsten Gillibrand (who’s eyeing a spot in the White House), return to the field alongside their Republican teammates and rookie Reps. Sharice Davids, Deb Haaland, Katie Hill, Chrissy Houlahan, Kim Schrier and Donna E. Shalala.

The women might come from different sides of the aisle, but their goal is the same: defeat the “Bad News Babes” and end their three years of total domination.

“We congressional women are in a league of our own, and I’m proud to continue keeping this tradition of bipartisanship, camaraderie, and friendly competition alive for a great cause,” said Capito, who’s also a team captain.

The game, in its 11th year, will take place at Watkins Recreation Center on June 19, and benefits the Young Survival Coalition, which supports young women with breast cancer.



Rep. Nanette Barragán, D-Calif.

Rep. Cheri Bustos, D-Ill.

*Sen. Shelley Moore Capito, R-W.Va.

Rep. Kathy Castor, D-Fla.

Rep. Sharice Davids, D-Kan.

Sen. Joni Ernst, R-Iowa

*Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand, D-N.Y.

Res. Cmmsr. Jenniffer González-Colón, R-P.R.

Rep. Deb Haaland, D-N.M.

Rep. Katie Hill, D-Calif.

Rep. Chrissy Houlahan, D-Pa.

*Rep. Martha Roby, R-Ala.

Rep. Kim Schrier, D-Wash.

Rep. Donna E. Shalala, D-Fla.

Sen. Kyrsten Sinema, D-Ariz.

Rep. Norma J. Torres, D-Calif.

*Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz, D-Fla.



Rep. Ed Perlmutter, D-Colo.

Tori Barnes

Natalie Buchanan Joyce

Jim Kiley


Jennifer Bendery, HuffPost

*Mikayla Bouchard, The New York Times

Bridget Bowman, CQ Roll Call

Leigh Ann Caldwell, NBC News

Lisa Desjardins, PBS NewsHour

Gretchen Frazee, PBS NewsHour

Emily Goodin, DailyMail.com

*Emmarie Huetteman, Kaiser Health News

Tamara Keith, NPR

Abby Livingston, The Texas Tribune

Leigh Munsil, CNN

Amna Nawaz, PBS NewsHour

Lynn Sweet, The Chicago Sun-Times

Shawna Thomas, VICE News

Amy Walter, The Cook Political Report

Captains emeritus

Dana Bash, CNN

Carrie Budoff Brown, Politico

Brianna Keilar, CNN


David Espo, The Associated Press, retired

Carl Hulse, The New York Times

Frank Thorp, NBC News

Get breaking news alerts and more from Roll Call on your iPhone.